Things I have learnt to do on my HTC Hero – 2

In Part 2 of the mini series, I have decided to postpone my enthusiasm for Android apps (until Part 3) and write down a few more ‘useful’ tips I have found out.

  • Deleting multiple contacts – To delete multiple contacts, with reference to the official HTC Hero manual (Pg 70), navigate to the main ‘People’ list, press the Menu button, then select ‘Delete contacts’, which will allow you to select multiple contacts to delete.
  • Deleting all contacts (from Google Contacts sync) – One of the first things I did with my Hero was to login to my Google account. This resulted in almost everything being imported – including all the contacts I have ever emailed.   To make a fresh start, select ‘Settings’ then ‘Applications’, ‘Manage Applications’ then ‘Contacts Storage’ and select ‘Clear data’. Please bear in mind this deletes all your contacts.
  • Troubleshooting – Syncing the HTC Hero calendar with Google Calendar – Events in my Google Calendar are automatically displayed by my Hero. However, I could never see the events I added on the HTC Hero online. It turns out the simple trick – as pointed out by TeaLeaf – is to select the relevant ‘Google’ calendar at the top when you first add the event via your Hero (and not My Calendar) so that the next time you login to your Google Calendar – hey presto!

One thing I have to give credit to Orange UK for is that, at a superficial user level at least, they have given the user (me) what seems to be the ‘full’ HTC Hero Android experience with this phone.  To put this comment into context, my last phone – the LG ViewTY – had so many Orange UK customisations, the interface barely resembled what everyone else was reviewing!

The ROM, alas, is not the latest version released (I am told and have read that it improves the speed of the phone and the camera quality) which is strange, given that the ROM Upgrade for Orange (2.73.61.5) came out on 18th September 2009, and I only got my phone last week.

I have noticed the odd freeze, so maybe a ROM upgrade is due at some point. I will cover my attempt at upgrading the ROM in a future post. It will be a landmark first attempt for mildly techie me, so fingers crossed. The installation instructions look quite bewildering!

