Things I have learnt to do on my HTC Hero – 1

As a new user to ‘smart’ phones like the HTC Hero, I thought it might be a good idea to write up a series of really mini posts about what I’ve learnt to do. They may seem like really simple things, but as I am extremely slow when it comes to learning about phones…

Before I start, one of the most useful websites is HTC’s own FAQ section, which can be found here (click on Product Support on the left to find FAQs for e.g. the US Sprint version):

http://www.htc.com/uk/faq_detail.aspx?p_id=283&act=faq&cat=0

  • Getting rid of icons in the top bar – I installed some apps from the ‘Market’ place of Android, and this resulted in some icons appearing in the top bar. These are called ‘Notifications’ and can be removed by pressing the  ‘Menu’ button and selecting ‘Notifications’ to show the list.
  • Copying and Pasting – Useful when copying and pasting email addresses or phone numbers, but not necessarily instinctive. With thanks to Gizmodo for the info, hold down your finger on the text/number/input box until a context menu appears.
  • Removing a widget from the HTC Hero – Like copying and pasting, you should hold down your finger on the app until the option to ‘remove’ it appears. This is also applicable when you want to reposition the widget.

I really love my HTC Hero although, at present, the only gripe is that the Calendar app isn’t perfect.  This has also been discussed on Androidforums.com – the HTC Hero calendar  widget allows you to display just a day’s worth of ‘to-do’s as via the agenda format of the widget; or you get the entire month of dates as a calendar – not exactly useful if you have something ‘to-do’ almost everyday and want to see a few days in one go!

Nevertheless, I have been really impressed by the Hero’s capabilities. The original ‘Home’ setup is so lovely I haven’t had the heart to customise even the wallpaper yet. I am looking forward to finding more to do with the Hero, and before the next mini post, I would like to recommend Abduction as an excellent Android game for download if you haven’t already got it.

p/s: My Orange data bundle doesn’t start till November 1st, so will talk about connecting via Orange to the net in future posts.

