HTC Hero on Orange UK launch date delayed?

According to this article on Engadget by Thomas Ricker, it seems that the launch of the HTC Hero been pushed back, with Amazon.co.uk – one of the sellers of the SIM Free versions of the phone – now posting a release date as far off as August 15th 2009!

However, one comment by SteviDVD caught my attention, as he said that:

I got a message from Orange to say that it will be out within a week but didn’t give a date as it is still in testing.
I think it will be coming out on contract before sim only.

I think I might have to join the legions of people ringing up Orange on a daily basis to find out when this phone is going to be launched! Clearly the most desirable phones – HTC Hero and the Nokia N97 – are so in demand that the mobile operators are finding it difficult to get them out on time.

Sadly, as I am now into the first 15 days of my SIM only 30 day rolling Dolphin 20 contract, it will be at least another 2.5 months before I will be able to upgrade.

